EFFSC wins University of Limpopo SRC Elections after beating ANCs SASCO and SUCA.

University of Limpopo Turfloop Campus held its SRC Elections on the 8th of October 2019. The counting of ballot papers began at 22h00 after the closing of voting stations. Counting lasted for the whole night under the watchful eyes of party agents, securities and IEC.

IEC announced the results in the morning of 09 October 2019 declaring Economic Freedom Fighters Student Command as the winner. Results came out as follows:

EFF = 5 485
SASCO = 2 412
SUCA = 1013
SCO = 739
COPE = 75
PASMA = 64

Economic Freedom Fighters Student Command was also announced as the winner of all Faculties.

In terms of seat allocation EFFSC received 12 seats, SASCO 3 seats and SUCA received 1 seat. Results were confirmed by EFF Limpopo Chairperson Jossey Buthane who addressed students right after counting was concluded by IEC.

This victory come after a series of campaigns by all student bodies with ANC roping in its heavy weights like Malusi Gigaba to address students. EFF Student Command members were happy to win back the University from SASCO.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!