The ANC in the Eastern Cape has disbanded three of its regions amid protracted delays for them to hold conferences and internal squabbles.

ANC provincial secretary Lulama Ngcukayitobi announced at a press conference on Tuesday that the decision to dissolve the three regions – OR Tambo, Joe Gqabi and Nelson Mandela – were taken by the provincial executive committee (PEC) during their one-day meeting held on Monday.

The OR Tambo and Joe Gqabi regions were long overdue to hold their conferences and the Nelson Mandela region was dissolved due to their failure to convene a regional general council to appoint a chairman after Andile Lungisa was told to vacate the position.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!