Following days of anticipation, President Cyril Ramaphosa has finally announced his cabinet, to serve in the country’s sixth administration.

The new list of ministries together with their political principles are:

  •         The Deputy President is David Mabuza.
  •        The Minister of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development is Thoko Didiza.
  •        The Deputy Ministers are Sdumo Dlamini and Mcebisi Skwatsha.
  •        The Minister of Basic Education is Angie Motshekga.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Dr Regina Mhaule.
  •        The Minister of Communications is Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Pinky Kekana.
  •        The Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs is Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma.
  •        The Deputy Ministers are Parks Tau and Obed Bapela.
  •        The Minister of Defence and Military Veterans is Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Thabang Makwetla.
  •        The Minister of Environment, Forestry and Fisheriesis Barbara Creecy.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Maggie Sotyu.
  •        The Minister of Employment and Labour is Thulas Nxesi.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Boitumelo Moloi.


  •        The Minister of Finance is Tito Mboweni.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Dr David Masondo.
  •        The Minister of Health is Dr Zwelini Mkhize.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Dr Joe Phaahla.
  •        The Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology is Dr Blade Nzimande.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Buti Manamela.
  •        The Minister of Home Affairs is Dr Aaron Motsoaledi.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Njabulo Nzuza.
  •        The Minister of Human Settlements, Water and Sanitation is Lindiwe Sisulu.
  •        The Deputy Ministers are Pam Tshwete and David Mahlobo.
  •        The Minister of International Relations and Cooperation is Dr Naledi Pandor.
  •        The Deputy Ministers are Alvin Botes and Candith Mashego-Dlamini.
  •        The Minister of Justice and Correctional Services is Ronald Lamola.
  •        The Deputy Ministers are John Jeffery and Inkosi Phathekile Holomisa.
  •        The Minister of Mineral Resources and Energy is Gwede Mantashe.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Bavelile Hlongwa.
  •        The Minister of Police is General Bheki Cele.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Cassel Mathale.
  •        The Minister in the Presidency is Jackson Mthembu.
  •        The Deputy Minister in the Presidency is Thembi Siweya.
  •        The Minister in the Presidency for Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities is Maite Nkoana-Mashabane.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Prof Hlengiwe Mkhize.
  •        The Minister of Public Enterprises is Pravin Gordhan.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Phumulo Masualle.
  •        The Minister of Public Service and Administration is Senzo Mchunu.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Sindy Chikunga.
  •        The Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure is Patricia De Lille.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Noxolo Kiviet.
  •        The Minister of Small Business Development is Khumbudzo Ntshavheni.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Rosemary Capa.
  •        The Minister of Social Development is Lindiwe Zulu.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Henrietta Bogopane-Zulu.
  •        The Minister of Sports, Arts and Culture is Nathi Mthethwa.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Nocawe Mafu.
  •        The Minister of State Security is Ayanda Dlodlo.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Zizi Kodwa.
  •        The Minister of Tourism is Nkhensani Kubayi-Ngubane.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Fish Mahlalela.
  •        The Minister of Trade and Industry is Ebrahim Patel.
  •        The Deputy Ministers are Fikile Majola and Nomalungelo Gina.
  •        The Minister of Transport is Fikile Mbalula.
  •        The Deputy Minister is Dikeledi Magadzi.


Speaking at the Union Buildings on Wednesday, Ramaphosa’s announcement followed an unprecedented gap between a president’s inauguration and the appointment of his cabinet, in South African democratic history.

Part of what held him back was his deputy in the ANC, David Mabuza’s stand-off over clearing his name.

On Tuesday the thorny issue of who would be Ramaphosa’s deputy was resolved when Mabuza was finally sworn in as a Member of Parliament, paving the way for him to potentially become the country’s deputy.

He had insisted on clearing his name with the party’s integrity commission first, which had included him in a list of party leaders who had brought the party into disrepute.

For three days the country had no cabinet, with Ramaphosa constituting the sole member of the entire executive. With credit rating agencies closely watching the country, it was crucial to make the appointment as soon as possible.

The president had previously vowed to cut down cabinet from the whopping 34 ministers it ballooned to under his predecessor Jacob Zuma, who used ministry positions to award his allies. There were also previously 35 deputies, who did constitute part of the cabinet but further inflated the government’s wage bill.

He had also promised to clear out those allegedly involved in the mass corruption and state capture that has riddled government under the ANC in the past.

Another reason Ramaphosa hasn’t been able to act faster is because the Public Protector has recommended he take disciplinary action against Pravin Gordhan, his trusted former public enterprises minister.

Ramaphosa couldn’t appoint people with a cloud over their heads given his stated commitment to a clean and effective government, The Conversations’ Dirk Kotze noted previously.

“The fact that he stood aside and allowed Mabuza, who was key to his election as president of the ANC in December 2017, to be put through the integrity commission’s processes even though this meant not pulling off a speedy appointment of the cabinet, is testimony to his determination to respect due process. Ramaphosa has also left Gordhan to deal with the Public Protector’s report,” said Kotze.

South Africa’s new, reduced cabinet size brings it closer to international norms. POWER 98.7 has previously shown how South Africa has one of the largest cabinets out of a number of countries surveyed, but with the lowest indicators of wealth, equality, development and more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!